Yoga Life

Yoga teacher training is something that’s been on my bucket list for the last three years. I was first inspired when my roommate at the time came back from a course in India and it completely changed her life. I had a couple of impromptu classes with her outside on the grass behind our apartment building and have continued on and off with different yoga classes and home practice ever since.

 

Like all things in my life my yoga practice has definitely not been consistent. It is a challenge. Some days I spring out of bed for an early morning yoga sesh, other days I struggle to get my crazy coloured yoga pants on, I contemplate and procrastinate about unrolling my mat and think of a million different things I can do before hand to delay it even more. But why? Why do I do this to myself when I know how amazing, refreshed, calm and energised I feel after a yoga session. Maybe I’m weird? Maybe others can relate? Either way, I have enrolled for a yoga teacher training here in Golden BC, more importantly I have paid for it! Once something is paid for that is when it becomes real to me. This is actually happening! I will have an expensive excuse to get out of bed for 7am meditations and early morning yoga classes. I wouldn’t call myself a morning person, but I think I’m excited haha

 

My goal is to go into this with an open mind, embrace everything entirely and then at the end I can decide the parts I liked and didn’t like, figure out the parts that resonated with me and go from there to create my own practice that I can eventually share with others also.

 

So for the next 18 days I am going to be a refined sugar and caffeine free vegetarian. It helps that during the course I get all my meals cooked for me each day! I am going to treat this as a personal challenge and soak in this experience and enjoy it as much as possible! I want to embrace as much of these next 18 days as possible and hopefully be inspired to carry on some of these new healthy habits. Not sure I want to give up coffee, sugar, alcohol or meat for the long term, but it would be nice to have control over my sugar addictions and pick up my healthy eating game. I don’t believe that giving up something entirely is a good thing, we should all know by now that extreme diets never work in the long run and mostly just make you miserable if they feel limiting, even though I know sugar in excess is poison for your body… delicious, delicious poison.

 

Everything in moderation is my motto and I feel this relates to the yogi lifestyle as well. Being true to yourself and living content is 10/10 important. I wouldn’t say I’m a big drinker, but I do love the occasional summer time patio beer and I can tell you right now I’m never going to feel guilty about eating a cupcake. It might be a bit unconventional in the yogi world, but I don’t think there’s a single thing wrong with that! Don’t forget the moderation paired with daily exercise part though 😉 #balance

 

Bring on day one of yoga life!!

Leave a Reply

